Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

RGB M27 Dumbell (and a star trail image)

SteveL

Well, what a quite amazing night that was! I was at a BBQ early in the evening, and managed to escape early (wife could see me staring up at the sky all the time), got home and set up. The Milky Way was bright and crisp across the Zenith, no wind, no rain, no clouds, and the sky got REALLY dark (down to 20.30 Mag persquare arcminute or something on my sky meter).

Anyway, here goes: M27 Dumbell

OTA: C11 @ f/10

Guiding: SW ED80 + DSI-C + PHD (via EQMOD)

Ha Imaging: QHY8 + MaximDL, 30 x 300s, IDAS

Stacked: DeepSkyStacker

Post Process: ImagesPlus + PSCS2 + Noel Carboni’s AstroTools

(Click on image for larger version)

m27_20080802_small.jpg

While waiting for this sequence to finish, I started playing with the 350D, and this image popped out of the camera earlier today. Some heavy duty light pollution removal, and a two layer composition wth alpha channel, and here is the end result.

(Click on image for larger version)

20080802_star_trails_001_small.jpg

yup, had to be one of the best nights I have ever seen from here in the centre of the country. Shame it was cut short about 1.30am for me.

Nice image Steve, really like the colours of the stars showing through there.

TJ

Great stuff Steve. Things are picking up image wise on the forum. We had some cracking stuff recently.Let's hope it continues.

Only the scope in the 350 image prevents me feeling I'm going to spiral down into Infinity.

Ron. :D

Really nice and deep image Steve, glad you managed to riggle out of the Barbeque to secure that one. The star trail pic looks great with your set up.