SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

From 2016-10-10 Old PP (fast) vs. New (time consuming)

WestCoastCannuck

So...  as I mentioned, I am a noob, and using equipment very few who are at all serious about lunar imaging use.  (no scope)  I know a little bit more now (if only just how much I DON"T know), and I am trying new software - anything I can to get the best attractive printable images I can from the equipment I am currently using.  (I am first and foremost a photographer)

Equipment:  Sony A77ii, Minolta AF400 F4.5 lens + 2X TC (800mm f9.)

The first of these was my favourite of all my shots...  perhaps not now. ;) 

Both images uploaded at 1600px.  Both are roughly 2800px in my finished files for printing.

No 1.  15 images pre-cropped and roughly aligned manually in LR6 - Stacked and processed in Registax 6 - Colour PP in LR 6.   Pretty quick process really.  (not counting the manual pre-aligning which WAS a pain)20161013-15 IMAGE STACK2 10-10-2016-2.jpg

No 2.   Started from scratch with 19 base raw files (including the 15 from previous shot).  Did some pre-processing with adjustment brush pushing colour saturations and reducing highlights to all images.

Exported tiffs at first for PIPP...  but it stalled (choking on 140MB files I guess).  Exported as jpgs, PIPP did its thing no problem.  I checked a button in the output that did some magic and created more images than I had to start.  I took all the images above 97% (10)

Stacked the 10 jpgs in AutoStakkert2.  Exported as tiff.

PP in Astra Image.  After lots of trial and error, I used only Lucy Richardson deconvolution in both deblurr and sharpen modes.  (thanks to zAmb0ni for his tutorial http://arstechnica.com/civis/viewtopic.php?t=1224931 )  I used no wavelets for this one.