NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

I just don't understand circuits... at all...

I am in my final year of A-levels, doing physics, and a topic I can't seem to get my head around is circuits. 

It's just that nothing seems to quite work the way it should. Ignoring the fact that conventional current is in the wrong direction, I have all these equations (which, fortunately, I don't have to remember for the exam) and  some just don't quite make sense with each other. 

So, there's P=(I^2)xR, which implies that Power and resistance are directly proportional to each other but then P=(V^2)/R implies that they are inversely proportional. Now, as I understand it, you use the first when the current is constant and the second if  P.D is constant. That's fine. But then there are some circuits in which neither is constant? and the Power varies? 

I've always thought that for equations like this to work, some element must be constant. In this past paper, everything is variable! 

There is a cell, ammeter and variable resistor connected in series with a voltmeter connected across he resistor. I have a graph showing me that p.d decreases as current increses/resistance is decresed and doing calculations shows that the power output from resistor is at its maximum at some point in the middle of the graph. 

I basically want to know which features have changed into reaction to what. When the resistance is changed, why does the voltage change? Why would he cell give a lower e.m.f for a circuit just because the circuit is easier to get through and how does it "know" to do so? 

Sorry for the long post. Any answers, explanations or links would be greatly appreciated. 

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

They all work out the same (for DC circuits)

Take 10V supply with a 20 Ohm load

P = (10^2)/R

P= 100/20 = 5 Watts

I = V/R

I = 10/20 = 0.5Amps

P = (0.5^2)x20 = 5 Watts