Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

is the c8 too strong for dso

hi all after one of those bad nights you get even though conditions were very good,does anyone think a c8 is too powerful for dso,with a nikon d750 attached,also what is in the sky tonight that would be worth a visit and a good starting point thanks from a dismayed starter:hmh:

2 hours ago, iwols said:

... thanks from a dismayed starter:hmh:

Addressing your final point (and as a beginner myself), never get dismayed.  The time to get dismayed is when you are an expert and the image you've spend all night every night for the last week collecting and then days processing is then turned down for publication as its not good enough.

As a beginner myself I feel proud when I can see some stars on my photos, I'm throwing celebratory parties when I can tell what bit of the sky those stars are from, etc.

Us beginners tend to be improving the whole time.  Each attempt is better than the last.

Ian

What do you mean by too strong? Is the field of view too small to find the object of interest, is the mount not up to tracking, can you not get it focused etc. If you are clear what your problem is others might be able to advise. Getting any new system up and running can be a challenge even for seasoned observers.

Regards Andrew

Not necessarily too powerful, but not particularly easy either.  2000 mm focal length requires very precise tracking, particularly for the longer imaging time needed at f10.

Chris

I never quite understand the terms 'fast' or 'slow' when it comes to scopes, but it's to do with how much light the scope picks up. F5 is a fast focal ratio. You can work it out by dividing the focal length by the aperture. Mine is 1000mm/200mm = 5. Yours is 2000mm/200mm = 10. That's pretty slow. The best objects for slow scopes are planets which are bright and also very small so need the long focal length.

It's not impossible though, but try on bright DSOs like globular clusters.

Good luck!