NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Celestron 8 - 24mm Zoom Eyepiece - Should I buy it?

JonnyAlpha

Hi;

I asked on here a while ago about what lenses to get for my Celestron Astromaster 130EQ scope, here's the thread.

Due to time I never got around to getting them. I am now thinking of getting some lenses for this scope, the above post suggested an 8, 18 and 25mm and a 2 x Barlow however I just spotted one of these in my local camera shop.

Question:

What sort of usage will I get out of this lens on my scope. I am a beginner and would like to be able to look at something more that just dots of light in the sky, possibly a bit of colour when looking at stars and be able to make out some planets?

Would this lens be a better option than buying 3 lenses (8, 18 and 25mm)

If I get this lens should I also get a 2 x Barlow and a Moon filter?

I currently only have two lenses for my Celestron, the 20mm erecting eye piece and a 10mm lens.

Thanks for your advice :-)

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You use this in a Bino viewer,  I want to use this in a Telescope as a main lens instead of using separate lenses will the standard one I linked or the regal one you linked work great in my Astro Master in place of individual lenses? 

Hi JonnyAlpha:

In general, a zoom eyepiece won't perform as well as those of a fixed focal length. You are likely to find the image is compromised by being less bright, having light scattered (glare) or being distorded away from the centre of the image. Also, the field of view tends to be narrow compared to fixed focal length eyepieces, especially at the longer focal lengths.

That's not to say zooms don't have a place - they are very convenient - but if you are after a better quality image I think you would be better off buying the separate eyepieces and a Barlow.

Billy.

It depends what your budget is and whether a zoom will focus on your scope.