Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie please be gentle, I have a few questions

Montana

Father Christmas brought me a colour webcam yesterday, a PGR Blackfly colour cam so I can image the planets in colour.

I have never used a colour camera before and I have been watching lots of tutorials this afternoon and I have got very confused. I have a few questions

1. When imaging the planets I expected to image in colour but many videos say to switch debayer off? but I wanted to record in colour, I have a black & white webcam already so why should I switch the colour off?

2. In Firecapture there are lots of debayer settings not just one colour setting. Which do I use? there is a choice of 'Nearest Neighbour, linear,edge,smoothue,adaptive and VNG' also 'RG,GB,GR,BG' what do all these mean and what do you capture with?

3. Do you use avi or  ser?

4. Is there a step by step guide I could read showing exactly how to image a planet in colour and how to process? I have watched all the Planetary Imaging Youtube videos by wwgeb but he doesn't talk about colour cameras very much, it was just this passing comment on switching the colour off before recording but he didn't say why.

Kind regards

Alexandra

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Switching the debayer off simply means that the camera does not process (debayer) the image before downloading the data to your computer - thus allowing faster frame rates (everything else being equal).  You then run the debayer as the first part of image processing - most software has that function - you need to either find the cameras data to find which debayer to use or simply try them and you will soon see when you get it right!  :p

You can use avi or ser as preferred - ser is uncompressed as are many "versions" of avi (sorry don't know how to express that one any better!).