Mount control from remote warm room question

Skipper Billy

I am in the early planning stage of a small obsy.

I have an existing shed with heat and power etc which I want to use as a warm room and its about 20m from the location I want to build a small obsy - just a small one to house the scope - I am busily grabbing all the great ideas from this forum - there are some very creative and hard-working people !!!

I am OK with getting power etc from the warm room to the obsy but my question concerns the data link.

I am thinking that the powered hub I use now could be fixed to the mount and just one USB cable run to the warm room but 20m is too far for a USB cable I think ??

What's the thinking about the best way to achieve this ??

(Simple, not overly technical language please - I am not a computer scientist !!)

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I run just a 12V power cable and a USB cable to my mount, where I have a USB hub.

It works really well. Over about 5 metres, you will need to use a usb booster type extension cable.... it has a signal boosting amp built into the female end. 

Or just have a computer in the obs controlling everything and remote desktop to it from the warm room using wifi

That's what I was going to suggest.  As an alternative to wifi you could consider power line adapters.

Mike

That's what I was going to suggest.  As an alternative to wifi you could consider power line adapters.

Mike

I guess wired would be best indeed. 

There are some micro/mini pc's available for around 200-300$ that includes Windows 8.1/10, or you can go for something expensive (but awesome) dedicated like the EAGLE control unit; 

http://www.primalucelab.com/astronomy/eagle-control-unit-for-telescopes-and-astrophotography.html