Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Quark queries

Floater

Briefly, my finger is twitching on the trigger to buy a Quark 'eyepiece' but I have some questions I'm mulling over before committing myself.

I know of several fellow Loungers who could answer my queries very well but I'm posting these 'open', rather than via PMs, because I value the breadth of opinion available and I know that others can learn from any replies, as I have done so often. So, at far greater length, here are my questions:

1. Prominence or chromosphere variant? To date, I have had most enjoyment in Ha observing, viewing the prominences, etc. My Solarmax 40 is a joy. However, I have had no experience of any other dedicated solar scope, so I'm not sure if greater aperture or a different wavelength filter would greatly alter my observations. I do like white light observing but my 'bag' is Ha. I have read in some reviews of the Quark that it makes little difference which option one chooses and, even, that there is no need to go for the proms version since these features are easily visible in the chromosphere alternative. Or maybe it was vice versa? Any advice welcome.

2. I read in the online Quark manual that any wing shift means I should wait '5-10 minutes' before observing again. Does this mean I will see nothing during that period and really will have to spend the time twiddling my thumbs - or, perhaps, looking through another scope in white light?

3. I plan to use the Quark mainly with my 76mm scope (from the online manual again, this is a recommended size) but I would also like to employ my 102mm option at least sometimes. I read that I should use a UV/IR cut filter above 80mm so would I be best to get one of these anyhow and use it with both scopes? And how does the use of such a filter affect viewing?