astrophotography : which camera to use?

danccat

I don't think that camera is suitable for deep space photography as it's primarily a video capture device. Solar system objects would be fine.

For deep space objects you would need a suitable tracking mount (likely the ability to guide) and a camera capable of opening the shutter for relatively long periods of time.

What kit are you intending to use a camera with?

Okay.. I am a beginner at this so bear with me!

I'll be using my Celestron Nexstar 8se scope, got many eps, ranging from 2.3mm up to 32mm, all XCel eps.

They are an excellent scope with great optics and a brilliant performer on the planets, moon and brighter DSO's. It would make a pretty good platform for planetary and lunar/solar imaging.

DSO's are a different kettle of fish as they are relatively dim in comparison, that means lots of long exposures. To have a chance of reasonable success you need to start with a good foundation and that means a decent equatorial mount (the 8se usually comes with an Alt-Az type of mount).

I agree, your set up is really only suited to video photography, unless you have a wedge, as is the camera you are planning to buy.

Some people have got away with doing a bit of DS imaging with these types of telescopes, but not with that camera.  

Voice of experience here, I originally bought an Alt/Az scope and had to change the whole set up when I got into astrophotography.

Carole 

The Canon  camera would be capable of long exposure, but I think your drawback is going to be your mount as you wont be able to do long enough exposures because you get mishapen stars or field rotation.  

By all means give it a try, you'll find out for yourself what issues you have.  

HTH

Carole