Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

A Comprehensive Database of 300 2" Inch Eyepieces

cshahar

Hi Everyone:

Well, I decided to beat the winter doldrums by creating a database of 300 2” eyepieces, most of which are currently on the market. Initially I was doing it to educate myself as to what is available. It then took off or got out of control, depending on how you look at it. I believe this to be the most comprehensive database of 2” eyepieces. There are two or three other Excel spreadsheets out there, but they are either somewhat dated or don't contain as many fields. While I don’t have as much experience with eyepieces as some of the people in this group, I have been working as a researcher for 25 years, so I like to organize and tabulate data. Anyways, I am pretty excited about the results.

This may end up being a useful informational resource. But it does need a bit of tweaking. If there is enough interest I would like to maintain this database as an ongoing project. But I need some help. I would appreciate getting feedback from members. From people who have a long experience with eyepieces I would appreciate getting help regarding filling in some of the blanks in the database (for instance, info about country of manufacture, quality rating, weight, etc.). From anyone who has any of the eyepieces listed I would really like to fill in some blanks, particularly with regards to weight, but in relation to any other field as well. Sometimes manufacturers and distributors are rather cagey about specifications such as weight, eye relief, or country of manufacture. But please make sure you are very certain of the information you supply!

Note that a few of the models are no longer available through mainstream commercial outlets. But the great majority are.

Please send me revisions indicated in red font or yellow highlight so I will spot them easily. You can also email me directly:  charles19@sympatico.ca