NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

The Ignorant Astrophotographer, In Over His Head

What happens when a total newb drops tens of thousands on AP equipment? I decided to start a thread for posting what I'm sure shall be an astronomical number of astronomical questions I shall ask as I drown in the deep end of the pool. I conceded that a guy with my comprehensive lack of experience probably had no business buying so much equipment which was so new to me, but here I am. C'est la vive. What's done is done. I'm reading and reading and I'll no doubt ask questions for which I should have answers.

I've got the complete list of recommended reading I'll be working on.

Okay so I open up the camera and there are 8 slots and the filters just screw in. Should I make a note of which filter has gone into which slot or does it not matter? Is there a recommended specific sequence?

• Replies 83
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It would also be useful to list your equipment in your sig - that way people will be in a better position to offer assistance :)

I think we can cope with that question without knowing what camera, mount and scope you have!!! :D

You'll definitely need to know which filter is in which slot. My normal sequence is:-

1. L

2. R

3. G

4. B

5. Ha

6. OIII

7. Hb

8. SII

.... but the last four are very much to personal choice. No matter what, you will need to enter this detail in the filter selection software or you'll get in a right mess!

Paramount MX+/tripod

FSQ-106EDXIII

Stellarvue 90mm Raptor

Lodestar X2

QSI 683WSG

Astrodon Filters

The SkyX / MAC

Sitting on my sofa with family... They just asked if I was OK as I have turned a bright shade of green!!!

Excellent purchases. No wonder there is so much cloud everywhere. Good luck with it all. Ask all the questions you need to, this is the greatest place to help get you the results you are after.