Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Total NOOB Getting Started with an EOS DSLR

RichM63

I've trawled the forum, every section to do with imaging, but couldn't find a Sticky that would help a total noob to 'release the shutter' for the first time. I mean very basic instructions.

However after spending hours on the Net, frustrated back n forth I found this excellent BASIC beginners guide on Astrophotography-tonight.

It answers pretty much all of the questions concerning how to simply go for that first shot, with an EOS + EOS Utility connected and ON. + It explains some basic stacking and processing workflow.

Evidently not aimed at the experienced, but for a NOOB, I thought that it was brilliant.

I see that many people use BYE, but my 700D came with various softwares that include EOS Utility + other processing software capable of using and processing RAW files. (new purchase, all software etc registered).

My question, is BYE used when someone maybe has a S/H EOS and doesn't have the supplied software from a new camera, or is there an advantage for using BYE rather than Canon EOS Utilities?

Hit the link, if you, like me, are a confused NOOB at AP.

Cheers,

Rich

i only ever used the eos utility program with my 1100d and it worked great full control over a single usb and exposures up to 999 mins although i would'nt go that long i have taken 20 min exposures with it.if you dont have a filter wheel or motor focuser then you dont realy need BYE.

If you don't want to use a Laptop then a remote control will do the same job as software already mentioned......multipe exposures, shutter timer up to 99 Hours, interval before and between exposures....the 2 AAA batteries last 6 months or more if left turned on, i use rechargeables...:)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ramozz-intervalometer-remote-shutter-Camera/dp/B00C1C0WQC/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1410467242&sr=8-3&keywords=700D+remote+control