Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Arrrgh!

greglloyd

Is there anything worse than setting your 12" scope out to cool under a clear sky hoping for some nice views, go in to watch a programme with the missus, then pop out into the garden to do some quick observations on a work night before the moon gets too high - only to be met with a light shower and mostly cloudy skies??

Sometimes I hate this country!  :evil:

I know how you feel. I'm a beginner and on Tuesday night I set up my Explorer 200P to get in a bit of practice lining up the scope with various targets and hoping to get some good views of the moon once it rose above the trees to the east of our garden. Just as the moon was rising above the tree line a big bank of cloud came in from the west and covered everything. I should have known there was cloud coming in because I spotted the ISS coming from the west a little earlier only for it to disappear without trace. The only consolation was that I got to see about 15 meteorites, 2 of which were good 'uns. Both were between 21.45 and 22.00 hrs and both left good trails.

You have to take the opportunity to observe when it's clear, record the programme and watch it with the wife when it's raining.  :evil:

Agreed.

When it's clear you need to employ the 'drop everything' (apart from your scope!) tactic to get a decent chance of viewing. It can be several weeks between sessions, so you have to make the most of them while you can.

You have to take the opportunity to observe when it's clear, record the programme and watch it with the wife when it's raining.  :evil:

Ha Ha! I'm with you on that one and certainly do that when I can. But, when the wife is sitting on the sofa expecting some TV time it's a tricky negotiation to be had lol!  

A quick check of the satellite cloud cover movie before setting up will usually show any cloud coming your way over the horizon.

It can be depressing viewing, but saves a lot of wasted effort.