NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Idea for Astrophotography beginners

Hi guys, just introduced myself in a new topic in the Welcome section but just thought I might add my two cents in here aswell.  :smiley:

At the moment I'm still learning about telescopes and reciting my M numbers, I use binoculars for observing at the moment, but love the idea of astro imagery and can't wait to get stuck in when I'm ready. A good way for beginners like myself to have a little go (with state of the art technology no less), is through the Bradford Robotic Telescope. I'm sure some of you will have heard of it, apologies if this has been mentioned before!

It's great for astronomers of all levels and you can get some cracking results from it.

Note for beginners: setting your exposure times and trying to pick which filters are best might seem a little daunting, but with a standard account (£3 a month) you can submit up to 10 different attempts (or 'jobs') at a time so just fiddle around and see what comes back the best until you start to get the hang of it! There's some guidelines on the website and I do believe there's a forum too, but you might need to upgrade your account to use it. Don't forget to keep up with your book reading too. Read, read, read.  :grin:

There are three different telescopes in Tenerife that you can use depending on what you want to observe and there's a gallery of images that other users have captured which you can freely look through and even rate them. Get a high enough rating and your image might be featured on the website!