NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Bias / Dark frames; Very basic question

Hi all, first off, very sorry for this incredibly basic question, I am very new to this DSO imaging game :).

So, I am waiting on a suitable mount to get into this properly, but I am keen to practise with my 80mm refractor on the Nexstar mount; so short exposures only at the moment. Last night I had a play with getting some images of M82, and I could very easily see the galaxy on the screen with a 5 second exposure and the gain set high (obviously not good for imagining). So, taking 10 second exposure is giving me some images which I am happy, with, so next step is to work out how to stack, but reading making every photo count, I need to take some Dark & Bias frames first (when I have got all three types I will try to work out how to use DSS). So tonight my imaging will be very basic, I will probably take 40 Luminance shots at 1x1 and 15 RGB shots at 2 x 2; all shots with just10 second exposures. From reading the book, I think I understand Dark frames and basically I have to take these at the same time as the proper photos, using the same gain / exposure / focus settings, but with the end cap screwed on the scope (will ten shots be enough?). The Bias frames do not need to be taken at the same time (?), but do the settings need to be similar in terms of Gain? The books states that the exposure time does not matter, but I am already on a short exposure, so how will this be different from the Dark shots. Any quick answers would be good as I am hoping to be out in a field in 3 hours time :D,

Cheers,

Dave :)

Darks need to be taken at the same temp or a close as possible to the lights, but with the endcap screwed on - match the settings and length of exposure to the lights on your camera. Bias are not temperature dependant, but again match the settings on your camera and take the shortest possible exposure you can. Take lots and lots of both, 50+ and then stack em up!