SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

What does the f. number of a 'scope actually mean

I am a semi-pro photographer so I know what the f. No on a camera lens means and its application to photography but what are the implications of a 'fast' and 'slow' scope.

Is it pretty much the same as in photography in that you get more light into a fast scope for the same focal length but that image sharpness can suffer if the optics are not up to it and a shallower depth of field (probably most relevant to lunar obs?) whereas a slow scope lets in less light for a given focal length but generally gives a sharper image?

Thanks for your help

It actually means exactly the same as it does in photography.  It's the ratio of the aperture to the focal length.  But I guess astronomers tend to use it in a slightly different way since aperture is (mostly) fixed and depth of field is rarely an issue.

For me I don't really tend to worry about it much for visual other than for judging what sort of field of view I might get from a given scope.  For imaging then I guess I tend to work backwards from the image scale I want to achieve.  For example I might want to know what focal ratio is required to achieve 1 pixel per arcsecond, or to match camera resolution to telescope resolution with a given camera.  In those cases you might end up with a target focal ratio that you try to match as best you can given the other limitations of your kit (eg. it's fine to know you need to aim for f/8, say, but will your kit guide sufficiently accurately to allow long enough exposures at f/8 to get a decent image?)

James

Yes, you have interpreted it correctly. More light for a given focal length at faster f ratio :) It is calculated the same way as well, focal length / aperture just with a telescope system the aperture is fixed.