Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Greetings from the Pacific Northwest

CatRas

Hi,

I have been stargazing off and on for many years now so I am not completely new to the hobby.  It started when I was in college and I had some friends in the Astronomy Club and could go to the observatory and planetarium.  I can't give you specifics on the that telescope but it was pretty big. The first time I looked through I saw Saturn and it was amazing. But soon after I met a guy and being with him was more important than the astronomy.   About 9 years ago I bought a telescope and saw many cool sights. But when I  was pregnant with my daughter i just could not go out anymore. I was always too tired. So I ended up selling my telescope.Wish i would of just kept it in the closet. Now a friend of my husbands sold him for very cheap a nice little Celestron 80 mm refractor. I have only been out a couple times mostly because it is raining and /or cloudy. (This should be improving)  I looked at the moon. As soon as I get a good clear night I will load up my scope and drive out a ways to get away from the light pollution and maybe see if i can look at Jupiter.

The best part of this  is my daughter almost 8 is extremely interested in astronomy and loves to look at the moon.  We have gone out and done many nights of naked eyes astronomy and she can name many Constellations in the night sky. Last summer she saw the meteor shower.

The problem with the "new" scope is the tripod/mount is horrible made of wood and very clumsy to set up. So I want to update it.  So I have been looking at various mounts. If anyone has any input please let me know. I will eventually be doing astrophotography so I can combine both of my hobby's stargazing and photography.

Thanks

Clears Skies

Cathy

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply