Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

barlow lenses vs powermates

ve1drg

Wondering if there is any difference between powermates and barlow lenses?

I was told it is about the same ,  that there is no difference.

I always thought the barlow lenses were better.  They seemed to have better references.

But otherwise I have no knowledge on which might be the better.

I have a powermate now (2x).   And thought that if it was agreed that the barlow lenses were better than  i would give that a try.

Any thoughts please?

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

OMG! Televue powermates in my opinion beat any Barlow lens hands down! Barlow lens decrease surface brightness and powermates do not. You just plonk the powermate in and it's as though it's not there (aside from the magnification!). You'd be the first person I've heard of swapping a powermate for a Barlow!

Powermates just add the extra magnification, nothing else. You would not even know they are there. The Explore Scientific Focal Extenders work in the same way and are excellent as well.

If you have a Powermate, you already have the best amplifier there is.

The one benefit a barlow may give you if you have very short eye relief eyepieces, you can increase that eye relief using the barklow as well as magnifying the image, useful when wearing glasses for some eyepieces. Powermates will retain the eye relief of the eyepiece as is. 

Some barlows have the option of removing the lower element and can also be used as a lower magnifier. Typically the lower element will give 1.5x, and when the barlow is used in full it gives 2x.  AFAIK with the ES extender and powermates you will get the two times only, and also regardless where you place them in the train, they will always give that 2x afaik. 

Barlows can be a bit approximate too, an advertised  2x may give 2.3x or 1.7x in practice. I am not not convinced my skywatcher always gives 2x anyway, though I have never measured it.