Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

My new Tak grab and go - first light

So after much umming and erring I decided treat myself to an FC-100DF, see the attached pic. It arrived today and I couldn't resist setting it up including adding a fine focuser to it. After a hour or so of playing I popped my head outside and was surprised to see some clear skies. So off I went to give my first tak a go. I'm not experienced but first impressions were very good. Cooled down quickly and had a nice view of Jupiter although it didn't seem to be taking much magnification - I tried 150x but it was a bit much and I got the nicest views at 110x. Also got my first ever view of Mars which was special. Stars were also very nice and sharp. No noticeable false colour imo. Very pleased with the focuser, the fine focused worked well.

I'm probably deceiving myself since it's new, but I think it better than my tv85 and ed120 (despite less aperture). In addition to the lovely views, it's also very light (3.5kg) and my porta 2 handles it nicely, hence it's a grab and go. Finally I'm v happy I went for the Df version which has a bigger focuser. Although a bit heavily it has much more focus travel and I had no problems getting it into focus with all the eyepieces I tried - I think I may have struggled with the DC version which has only 1 inch of focus travel.

All in all I'm very happy and looking forward to a longer try out soon.

Gavin

post-28747-0-63066700-1393980901_thumb.j

I've been thinking of getting a quality four inch refractor for the last twelve months and have been curious about this scope compared to the tsa.

Looks hansom, you must be feeling happy as can be right now.

Funny thing I was considering this scope on a EM11 and in the last couple of days members here have posted on new arrivals for both.

I am weakening by the day.