Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Canon 350D

Geuse

Hi Guy's,

I wanted to take my Canon 350d out for my first shot tonight. I dont have a shutter release cord and i was wondering if anyone could give me tips on how to use it without? Can it be set to take a burst of pics or something?

Thanks in advance for any help.

You can set itin manual mode to do up to 30 sec shots without a shutter release. But also put it into delayed mode so that the shutter does not immediately operate allowing any vibrations to dampen out.

30 secs at ISO1600 should give some decent results, Also try ISO3200.

You can set itin manual mode to do up to 30 sec shots without a shutter release. But also put it into delayed mode so that the shutter does not immediately operate allowing any vibrations to dampen out.

Thanks for the info.

Sorry i am a real novice at this.

The 30 sec without shutter release - is that by putting it to M mode and turning the wheel to the 30" setting just before bulb mode??

And i have no idea how to set the delay - any advice?

Thanks.

Thats pretty much it.

If you don't have the users manual, I do have it in PDF if you would like me to email it to you.

I do have it here but its double dutch to me.

My dad left me all this stuff and i had never really looked at it until now.

Do you have a laptop? If so, and you have a USB lead with the micro connector to link it to the camera, then I suggest downloading APT http://www.ideiki.com/astro/

Using that you have a wealth of utilities to control the camera, to capture long exposure images, and to help with focus and framing. I know it works with the 350D because I have one. Take care to install the correct version - the one for the earlier Digic II processor which your camera uses (the other version is for newer cameras).

ChrisH

Something like this is wired, and would allow you to programme into the intervalometer how long you wanted your exposures for, and how many of them: