Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

having trouble seeing anything with my telescope

O2B3

I am new at this and tonight I set up my new dobsonian skyliner 200p, to look at the moon which was in clear view in the sky.

I lined up my telescope to the moon using my finderscope and got the moon in the centre of the Crosshairs and it looked fantastic but when it came to looking at the moon through the EP which is a 10m I couldn't see the moon even when I tried focusing up and down for 30 minutes still not seeing the moon so I changed EP to a wide angle and did the same still nothing, each time I look through the finderscope the moon look fantastic and right there looking big and bright.

Where am I going wrong? do I need to collimate my telescope even though it's new.

Hello. It's not collimation that's the problem, it's lining up the finderscope with the telescope.

In daylight, find a distant object through the actual telescope and centre it in the field of view. Then look through the finder and adjust it using the screws on the finder until that distant object is in the middle of the finder's field of view.

Hey presto - when you put the moon in the finderscope it will be visible through the main telescope.

You need toalign the finder and the main scope.

During daylight point the scope at something that is distant - 2 miles or so away.

Centre whatever and then without moving the scope adjust the finder to have the same thing in the centre.

Then check that tha scope is still centered on whatever it was.

Start with the longest focal lengh eyepiece.

Likely will have to aim scope and adjust finder a few times to get it ideal.

Pick sonething to the North, reduces the chance of getting the sun in view

It will take a time so be patient.

You need toalign the finder and the main scope.

During daylight point the scope at something that is distant - 2 miles or so away.