Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Budget of £350

bats

Hi All

I have a Budget of about £350 and would like to get a GOTO scope ( pre owned ). What can I expect to get for my money and has any one got any suggestions on what I should get.

Cheers

Paul

I reckon there's a bit of a "hole" in the market around that price.  A second hand 130 newt on an AZ GOTO mount probably wouldn't cost that much, nor a 127 Mak on the same mount.

Anything that size or larger on a larger GOTO mount is going to cost more than £350 used I suspect.

What you should actually get probably depends most on where your interest lies and why you feel you need GOTO.

James

I'd like a GOTO just for simplicity of navigation more than anything else (laziness) . I'd like to be able to see in detail some of the planets and stars that I got to see at the star party in Brecon this year, but they currently elude me with my own scope at present (I have a sky watcher 1145), and I am new to the hobby.

I think most people's suggestion for that sort of budget might well be a 200P dobsonian, but if you want GOTO then the budget won't allow you that large a scope.  I'd probably be inclined more towards the 127 Mak on the AZ GOTO mount if you want to view planets I think.  I'm sure there will be other suggestions.

James

If your heart is set on getting a GOTO then go for it! The only downside is you will be spending most of your budget on the mount rather than the scope.

For £350 you should be able to pick up just about any of the 127 MAK's (used) Celestron, Meade, Skywatcher. Have a look about as most of the time these will come with loads of accessories! I picked up my ETX125 + case + loads of accessories for £400. If i was to have bought it all seperatley...i would think the figure would be closer to £700. So its worth keeping a good eye out for a good scope that come with all the extras.

They show incredible detail of the night sky with the benefit of being ultra-portable!