Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

looking at getting 12inch dob for fist scope

Hello all firstly may i apologise for this post as im sure you all have heard it before. well im new to this looking at getting my first telescope later this month. i am thinking about a 12 inch dobsonian so if anyone can reccomend on then that would be great!

Also i am a little confused as to why i have seen 2 pictures from the same scope of saturn yet the detail in them is very different.

Many thanks

Kris

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi.

I've got a SkyWatcher 300P Flextube GOTO. Very pleased with it. Views of Jupiter and Saturn are fabulous. I can see Jupiter's great red spot no problems and Saturn's clouds and ring divisions.

Deep sky objects are great as well as the scope gathers so much light.

The scope's tracking is good. It is just about portable. The largest possible really if you want to move it around or transport it.

Planetary photography is easily achievable and the brighter DSOs are possible too.

Hope this helps.

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk 2

They are great scopes but do try and have a look at one for real if you can - they are also large scopes !

The details you can see of particular objects vary a lot due to the seeing conditions and other factors so it's really difficult to predict exactly what Saturn, Jupiter or other objects will look like to you.

Photos though scopes really don't equate to what you can see visually as our eyes can't compete with CCD's and image processing techniques. Have a look at the sketches section of the forum - that will be more representative.

Hi kris, wow, a 12" dob as a starter!

re imaging, quality can differ due to the atmosphere at that time, the quality of the camera utilised, and the processing of the images obtained.

i' m very new to this myself, so take a look at the imaging section of the forum.