Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello from Newcastle

geordieskiers

Hi, I am really new to astronomy and have just got a skywatcher 127 synscan telescope for christmas. I have had moderiate sucess on my 1st attempt with it but I am unsure what sky territory I'm in? My Latitude and Longitude is 55.0,-1.6 and I don't know how to find out which sky territory I'm in? Northern, Northeast, Southwestern, Western etc?

If anyone could let me know what my right setting (sky territory) should be on my handset this would be greatly appreciated by me and would help me dearly when trying to align using the 2 star method.

Many thanks in advance and a happy new year to all!!

P.S sorry about the miss spelling on the name lol!

post-27727-0-18837000-1357003813_thumb.j

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi, welcome to SGL and the New Year, I am afraid I do not have GOTO or handset, but by sky territory they could be referring to the Northern Hemisphere which is our part of the World, however, I do not think it will be long before you have a more positive answer to your inquiry, Nice piccy of the Moon by the way :)

John.

Hi and welcome to the forum. From the setting up instructions on page 5 you will see that they refer to appendix 'C' to calculate your time zone adjustment. If you are in the U.K there is no adjustment to make as you sit in zone zero, so I press enter on the handset to move to the new question. When it comes to keying in your co-ordinates of where you are viewing from, I refer to Google Earth. The handset only requires that you put in 00.00 don't bother with the seconds. One last thing which may sound obvious, ensure you input the date as MM-DD-YY which is the american way and not DD-MM-YY. :smiley:

Clear skies

James

Good Morning and Happy New Year to all fellow astronomers!

Thanks for all the quick reply's I can see as a complete noob I have come to the right place for kind help and understanding ;)