Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

be honest...

Spec-Chum

Has anyone ever upgraded their eyepiece to a premium one and been disappointed by the results vs the costs?

I went from BST to Meade 5000 and if think the differences are well worth it but I get the feeling if I now upgraded to a NaglerI I'd be disappointed considering their cost.

So, let's here your "well. That was a waste of money" stories.

:)

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

im quite new to this ,so im no expert and have limited experience with views through e/p's. but i upgraded from bst explorers and starguiders to x-cel lx, and although i think i get a very slightly sharper view towards to outer edge ,i preffered the bst's for comfort of use. i do like the x-cels and will happily use them no problem , but the eye sat alot easier with the bst's. now to be fair thats not a REAL upgrade i suppose as they are in simlar price brackets. i have to say my favourite eyepiece in my short time gazing at the stars has been the 32mm meade 4000 plossl and the 26mm meade 4000 smoothside. they were comfortable, easy on the eye and produced sharp images.

ive just bought a 2" sw 30MM AERO , i cant wait to shove it in the focuser and try it out , perhaps then i might have a stronger opinion on upgrades,as this is what id call a step up.

by the way arn't the meade 5000 the same as the x-cel lx ?

The 2 ethos I have are fantastic eyepieces, way way better than the other eyepieces I have, are they worth what they cost? Only time will tell, it helps I got the 2 of them for a collective saving of £450 over new, I'm not sure i could justify the new cost, I've bought mine for the future, yes they are great in my current scope but I am aiming to have a faster one in the future.

i also have a 7mm nagler sat in the local delivery office waiting to be collected, saved £120 over new on that so again that makes the extra cost easier to swallow,