Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Please help!!!!!

Raga

Hi guys.

I'm new here and have spent several hours already (before joining) reading what I can in here and other places about AP. I have been into photography for around 2 years and want to make the leap into AP.

The "general consensus" seems to be that the MOST IMPORTANT thing is a decent mount. I have no experience in telescopes at all other than the few times I have been round at my parents and they have their skywatcher 130 supatrak out.

I was thinking of getting a skywatcher explorer 150p and sitting it on a skywatcher heq5. I have a budget of around £750. Is this a good combo or should I be looking at something else?

I know scopes are a "personal preference" type of thing and yes I will be buying "making every photon count" but any help,tips,advice from ppl who have more experience than me is greatly welcomed.

Thanks in advance.

I have NEQ6 and 200p and that works great. So i would think HEQ5 and 150 would be OK, but better men than me can advise as i am a relative newbie. Also bound to be better men than me as I am female LOL

If you could go to NEQ6 its a great mount but if not have heard good reports of HEQ5

Welcone to the darkside :grin:

Velvet

the 150p will be fine on a HEQ5 i have had my 200 PDS on one for a couple of years.as long as you do an accurate polar alignment or drift alignment you should be good for some reasonable length un-guided subs, i was getting 1 minute subs without guiding, but others on here have managed double that. as for un modded camera, it will still be very capable of getting some very good results.

welcome to the "dark side" :evil: of astronomy,astrophotography can be very frustrating, but hugely rewarding