Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Jupiter woes.

Hi all, I'm new to all this & bought my first scope only a month or so ago (Skywatcher 130m EQ2), i've only managed 2 observing nights thanks to terrible weather.

My question is this- I used my first un-supplied eyepiece 3nights ago (Meade 5000 HD-60 9mm) I homed in on Jupiter and it was amazing, the contrast was great & the image sharp with 2 VERY distinct cloud bands visible. The problem was when I put in my 2x Barlow, although the bands were visible (faintly) the whole image itself seemed quite 'blurry' and wouldnt snap into focus properly :huh: , I do understand the limitations with my scope but I'd have thought that at the 200x the Barlow & 9mm would produce would be easily attained as the 'recommended' mag is 260x for a 5.1" mirror. Also I noticed that the scope itself was covered in a thin film of ice when i brought it inside ( I'd cooled the scope sufficiently b4 using it) I'm wondering if that would affect the mirror, maybe my 'untrained eye' needs a bit more practice or the scope really is pushed to its limits with 200x.

Thanks for reading. :smiley:

It's entirely possible that the sky conditions just weren't good enough to support that kind of magnification at the time you tried. There is a huge variation in the quality of the atmosphere from night to night and it's far from obvious when it's going to be at its best. When the seeing is poor quite often a barlow will just make things worse.

There are a few other things you could check though. It's not uncommon for dew to form on either the primary or secondary mirrors. A dew shield should help with that. You can buy them, or make your own out of camping mat.