Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What objects offer the most WOW factor for a first time viewer.

I should be receiving my new Orion XT8 telescope this weekend. Im planning to head out to the desert where light pollution should be almost none. Im wondering, for a complete beginner, what objects are going to really wow me. I understand that im not gonig to see hubble like detail and color, I just want some ideas of things that you have seen along the way that i could really enjoy. I am only going to have the 25 mm plossl eyepiece, so magnification will be limited. Any advice?

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

clusters the planets ,"the moon" a personel 5 year obsession with the moon never fails to wipe me out ,clusters are great as well of course bright galaxies double stars ,but clusters and doubles look for the behive cluster theres lots of jewel like clusters that are to die for one nights viewing is hard to plan

try this pick one constelation and spend all night on it to often nights are killed because trying to see every thing in one syndome kiks in.

with the 25mm ep should be fine a lot of dso`s do not need high power .i can not recomend ,the blue new version of turn left at orion that book will be a god send and the best money you will spend please get hold of this book if your budget will allow as ,you can use binos with that bbok

cheers Pat

Hi Jokerb19,

The first things I would loook for would be 'easy targets' !. I have never forgotten the first view of Saturn that I had. I have just put in Salt Lake City into stellarium. Mars and Saturn will be close together looking south. Mercury will be very low in the western horizon..