Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Starter telescope for a 10 year old

A work colleague has asked me to recommend a reasonable starter telescope for her 10 year old girl who, after a couple of terms at school moon watching, is keen to take the next step in astronomy. Her budget is about £100. Obviously she needs to avoid the 'toy' telescopes, and as I have never looked at scopes in this price range, I was wondering if anyone here has any suggestions?

Thanks

I'm no expert but would think a small refractor is best for a 10 year old, no maintenance grab and go. Then onwards and upwards.

That's what I was thinking. I imagined something like this

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/startravel/skywatcher-mercury-705.html

or

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/startravel/skywatcher-startravel-80-eq1.html

????

I'd recommend against the EQ1, whatever scope you get. It's about the most pointless thing ever for telescope use.

Given that there's £10 difference between the ST80 and Heritage 130P, I'm really not sure I could justify saving the £10. I started out with an ST80 and it's about as bullet-proof as you could get, but the 130P will show so much more. It will need to be used from a table-top outdoors, but it will still probably be much steadier than the EQ1.

The 76mm Heritage is an option if you want to spend less, but I think she'd just grow out of it more quickly.

I'd have thought that a ten year-old should be able to cope with collimating a newt with a little adult help, so I'm not convinced that's a good argument for avoiding them.

James

Hi there a brought my daughter a 90mm refractor on a cheap goto mount ,of e bay for around 140 quid it was a brill cope she loves it well I sy did she's 13 now so she seems to be less happy about standing out side in the cold ,she still comes out when. I put mine out I still use hers for a quick look some times

Cheers pat