Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

M13 : First Stacking Attempt from AP Newbie

coxy322

Hello.

Further to my Ring Nebula (first attempt) I have now attempted the M13 Globular in Hercules. This is my first attempt at stacking images. I took 25x 30 seconds in all to make this.

Stacked in Deep Sky Stacker and processed slightly in GIMP2. Any advice or pointers - I am quite impressed with the detail that comes out when you stack (am just getting over the honeymoon period of just snapping like mad at everything!).

7118601121_7ba8435343_b_d.jpg

Just had another thought Coxy, but I'm not sure how you do this on GIMP.

The colour balance is slightly in the Red so if you can knock that back a bit. In PS it's colour balance set to shadows and moving the slider from Red > Cyan a short way until it looks better.

That tends to lose a bit of the colour so I then knock the saturation up a little bit more.

I'll give it a quick go on your image in PS so you can see what I mean then you can do the same in GIMP.

Flats will take care of the vignet.

Just had another thought Coxy, but I'm not sure how you do this on GIMP.

The colour balance is slightly in the Red so if you can knock that back a bit. In PS it's colour balance set to shadows and moving the slider from Red > Cyan a short way until it looks better.

That tends to lose a bit of the colour so I then knock the saturation up a little bit more.

I'll give it a quick go on your image in PS so you can see what I mean then you can do the same in GIMP.

Flats will take care of the vignet.

[ATTACH]85906[/ATTACH]

That does look better, Spikey. Darker but not with any compromise on the star colour. I assume you mean PhotoShop... don't have that (yet) - am just learning the basics at the moment with free software.

Thanks for the positive remarks guys.

Ash