Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Home made telescope How hard ?

Mr TamiyaCowboy

have been pondering this in my mind for a while now.

how hard can it be to make a telescope for a total newbie like myself ?

my idea is a small 3 inch mirror and secondary @ around 700mm

but not in a standard tube design but an open truss system.

i have seen plenty of large truss telescopes on google but never seem to see small baby sized truss telescopes. but would like to make my very own.

is this something a newcomer to the hobby could do. i would purchase a mirror set then build a framework around the mirrors size and focal length. i know tube would be more simple but truss scopes look so cool and less bulky.

could you pro's point me in the right direction with advice and a fairly simple truss layout for a small 3" @700mm focal please.

I'd suggest that a cardboard or other solid tube would make more sense for something that small. garethmob just posted about using exactly that mirror, I believe. At those kind of dimensions a truss is probably going to be awkward to make small and light enough.

James

I think truss tubes are used for 2 slightly different reasons-

1) enabling large telescopes to break down into more easily transportable units

and

2) for scopes that would be too heavy to lift if made using a solid tube

Why exactly do you want to use the truss design as there are much easier options for a 3 inch scope plus why go for such a small size ?

smaller as it is more cheaper. and also a talking point.

truss because i have never seen small truss scopes unless i count the heritage 130.

smaller is more simple, smaller mirror's so less risk to damage, also a 12 inch build would be a lot for a newcomer to take on. so my thought was a smaller telescope would be slightly more easy to build and require less tools.

Maybe threaded rods for the trusses, they can flex a bit over big lengths but given the short length and low weight it should be fine.