NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Is my scope meeting its potential?

Hello everyone,

For several years I’ve enjoyed astronomy through television and magazines, but now my kids are getting to the age where they can enjoy it as well, so I finally decided to take the plunge and buy a telescope in hopes of bringing our learning experience alive a little more. Trying to avoid upgrading sometime down the road, I decided to go fairly large right from the start and bought a Celestron 8 inch Schmidt Cassegrain (as a newbie, I probably should have started smaller).

So far, I’ve been partially happy with my views (Saturn is pretty nice, I can somewhat make out the bands on Jupiter, and the moon is simply amazing in detail) but honestly, I’m having this nagging feeling that either I am doing something wrong or my OTA is somehow not optimized for viewing. Mostly, this is due to the fact that I can barely make out the bands of Jupiter and when I look at MARS (without filters) all I get is a shiny white ball. While I chalked the view of Jupiter up to variables like time of year, city light, and the fact that my mount is on my back deck (which doesn't provide the greatest stability), the situation with MARS concerns me more. I even went out a day after MARS opposition, thinking that maybe my initial (poor) observations from a few months prior might have had something to do with distance, but at this time (4 March 2012 @ 8:30 from Maryland) it was at a good angle in the sky (which I hoped would have given me more of the longer red wavelengths) and pretty much as close as it’s gonna get for a while (.65 au or so ??). At this time, all I was able to bring into focus was a slightly larger shiny white ball (through strangely enough it was still red when viewing with my eyes).

Does anyone know if this is an expected result or is there something I’m doing wrong?