Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi to all at SGL from Cornwall

LukeSuppalot

Hi all.

I've been skywatching for a few years using a cheap pair of binos and a camera tripod and Google skymaps on my phone. I live on the edge of Bodmin Moor so there is no light pollution and a 360 degree view of the sky (when the cloud cover permits).

Over the past year or so I've been taking my kids (youngest being 7 going on 14) out with me and they are hooked. With the aid of a laser pen we are now able pick out and name stars and planets and even the odd nebula (the one on Orions "*****" being a particular favourite of the youngest).

After watching the recent Stargazing program I finally decided to buy a telescope so we could get a clearer view and hopefully take a few photos to hang on their walls.

What a shock I got when I started looking for a telescope! Where to start? It's a complete minefield. Reflectors, refractors, motorised, goto? What did it all mean? So began numerous hours of trawling the internet for answers and more importantly advice. Eventually I stumbled across a post by John at SGL called "Essential reading for those who are thinking about getting into Astronomy" with a link to an article from Scopes n Skies. At last, something I could understand. After reading it I returned to the original thread and noticed that Skywatchers seem to be a well recommended brand for beginners. After a bit of research and a couple of emails to First Light Optics I think an Explorer 150p Eq3-2 is the one for me. Not too big and I can connect my 550D dslr relatively easily and cheaply. I'll keep you posted.

Phew! Rather a long-winded introduction but hey, at least you know a bit about me.

Luke