NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hello SGL Me again, that guy who can just never make up his mind. I am ordering my new telescope on Friday. Just thought I would ask for my final bit of advice; I was going to go for either a Skyliner 200p dob or 250p my question is; is it worth paying the extra £120 ish for the 250, I know more apperture is always king, but I believe the slightly less F number in the 250 may cause more problems with collimation regularity ? Or may be less forgiving on my E.P's but then it does have a Pyrex mirror. Help please, I have been researching scopes for the last 5 months, it took me 3 months to decide on a dob, ha. Anyway chaps, any input would surely stear me in the right direction. Thank you in advance for any help. Clear skies all.

Hi,

I too agonized for months (probably years) over what scope to get. I settled for the 250px as I didn't want to forever thinking 'what if'......I haven't looked back from it and it's been fantastic. Yes the supplied Ep's aren't great (tbh any money spent on Ep's is usually a step up from supplied kit ones) and I've noticed a huge improvement using the 250 px with Celestron X-Cel LX ep's (around £60 each) compared to the initial setup. Collimation is fine, I haven't noticed any problems with needing more care and attention.

If you've already got the Skywatcher 130P then personally I wouldn't even be looking at the 8" as replacement...I'd be looking towards 10"+!!

I did do a few reports on the 250px when I got it, this may be useful http://stargazerslounge.com/beginners-help-advice/165664-first-month-250px-beyond-first-light.html

The 10" is worth it but as you say at f4.7 it's more demanding on ep's this does not mean you have to spend a fortune on ep's a good selection of Plossl's would work just fine. Whatever Dob you choose you should be checking the collimation before every use it only takes a minute or so when you get the hang of it.

The pyrex mirror is meant to cool quicker.