Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi FROM A OLD NEWBIE.

loopylewin

Hi my name is Micky,

I thought I would tell you all a bit about myself and hopefully get a few tips as well.:)

In the late seventies a group of us at school really got in to astronomy all had telescopes and joined the local society, I had a small 50MM Refractor on alt-az tripod with wooden legs.

Over the years we drifted apart but knowledge of the constellations never leaves you. So my children and now my Grandchildren get a lecture when the nights clear on where orion is or the great bear, Jupiter, Saturn etc, etc.

My wife to my surprise has brought me a brand new Star watcher evostar 90 refractor on a eq2 mount of which i have no experience at all. Iam just wondering what I can expect to observe with this scope with a little more experience with it.

Best regards. :)

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

welcome :) I don't know anything about your telescope but mine is a beginner scope at 4.5 and 114mm :/ but with that I can see jupiter and moons clearly and great moon shots we can also see some of the M clusters I say some as I have only found some so far lol

Hi Micky and welcome to SGL, what can you see with a 90mm refractor ? thats a very open question, let just say Messier did a lot of his work with a refractor in that range, I believe Sir PM did a lot of drawings of the Moon with a 3" in his early days. It is in the end a matter of knowing where to look and that comes with experience of the night sky, acquiring a copy of Turn Left at Orion would be a good step in the right direction and then a copy of Illustrated Guide to Astronomical Wonders once you have found your feet :)