Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

I see stars!!!

Dude

I wish I could see Jupiter tonight. Unfortunately the orientation of my garden and "usable" level ground means it's not in the right place. ;)

I've enjoyed loitering, even though I've found only two things so far. Learning curve!

Iv had a little nosey out but the wind has got up now so i think il be observing from my window :-( its my first time seeing anything pretty much since psp2011 but oh well cant get rid of the wind so il be looking at jupiter thru the window with the bino's x

Had a late night session after picking up the wife (She had a jewellery stall at a local Xmas market!) Great views of Jupiter, M45 and Orion just in sight for me just before midnight, M42 was awesome!!

And I've decided, my fav eyepiece is the 32mm... Absolutely loving it... And to think, I just wanted massive magnification when I started out. ;)

everyone who starts out in this hobby does exactly the same thing, i even bought a 4mm eyepiece, couldn`t see a thing ! with your aperature and the amount of light your collecting you don`t need small mm eyepieces, except maybe when the conditions are extremly good on planets.

my fav is the 21mm hyperion and i now only have a 13mm to go with it but this seems to be all i need at this time

my fav is the 21mm hyperion and i now only have a 13mm to go with it but this seems to be all i need at this time

My favourites overall are 32mm, 20mm and 15mm.

What's the advantage of a 2inch eyepiece over 1.25? I assume there would only possible be an eyepiece for the larger eyepieces (i.e. 32mm+?).

Hi Cj,

You get a better fov and a larger piece of glass to look through and eye relief tends to be good but as you get to smaller focal length's my understanding is that there is no real advantage. What you start to consider is the exit pupil and age !!

See urls for a bit of fun :-

http://www.12dstring.me.uk/fov.htm

http://www.stargazing.net/naa/scopemath.htm

Cheers