Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Some questions from a beginner

Hi I've been thinking about getting a telescope for a long time (many years) and as of late I've found myself looking up at the night sky and at Jupiter a lot and thinking to myself that I wish I could a better view. I've been reading a lot about astronomy lately and have found myself stood outside quite a few times with a sky map staring up at the stars. So I've decided that I'd like to get a decent scope.

I've been reading a lot about scopes and have an interest in photographing some of the objects. I have no experience of telescopes but as I have been interested for a long time I have decided to get the best scope I can afford. I have pretty much decided on a Skywatcher Explorer 200P and EQ5 which seems to have very favorable user reviews. I realise that this might be a big bit of equipment to start with but I don't want to get something I'll have to replace too soon.

I'm interested in looking at deep space objects as well as the planets and would like some advice. Is this scope too much for a beginner? Is it suitable for both looking at planets and deep space? And is it better to have the P or PDS version? the latter has dual speed focus and a shorter tube length. * Any help you could offer would be appreciated.

Thanks

Brian

welcome to the group Brian.

the scope you mention will be a very good scope and provide excellent views visually of the planets and many other deeper space targets. it has good aperture and is of good build quality. it will be quite a large unit altogether but manageable if you are of average strength etc.

the scope is a little big for the mount for imaging purposes I fear and you'd need either a substantially bigger mount or a different scope for this mount for imaging.

I personally prefer the alt azimuth mounts for visual use but these are not good for photography.