NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hello and help from North Bucks

starpilot

Hello all

Have just received my first scope a few weeks ago. Have only had a chance to use it in anger once, but was blown away with a nice look at Saturn.

Looking forward to some clear skies for my next go.

What I'd really like to do is go to a star party near me and get some help from some experienced guys. Where can I find out some info on local meets ?

Also, as a commercial pilot I have a pretty good understanding of lat/long, global positioning, precession etc but for some reason I can't get my head around positioning in the sky. For a starter can some one tell me the reference point for right ascension i.e where's the starting point/what's it measured from ?

Many thanks

Starpilot

This is the perfect day to ask because the Sun is more or less right on it!

As wikipedia says:

for RA, the zero point is known as the vernal equinox point (also known as the First Point of Aries), which is the place in the sky where the Sun crosses the celestial equator at the March equinox.

The sun, now, is at an RA of 2 mins and 4 seconds, according to my "kstars" program.

SP

Welcome to SGL

RA is a subject that has confused many people.

The way I think of it is that the Sun has 4 key points in its 'trip around' the Earth in the year.

It has the point where it is most Northerly, the point where it is most Southerly and the 2 points where it crosses the equator heading either North or South.

It was decided that where the Sun crosses the equator heading North should be the zero point for RA.

This used to be in Aries but is now in Pisces.

The way I understand RA is if you stand facing due South at midday today you would be looking at the Sun at 0.0 RA. If you stayed looking due south for 9 hours you would be looking at an object that crosses infront of you with a RA of 9 hours e.g the star Alpha Cancri.