Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What first hooked you into astronomy?

Liev

Hi there, my name is Liev and I’m a graphic design student at Leeds College of Art. I am basing my final major project on astronomy. I would like to know what first ‘hooked’ you into astronomy; what first captivated you about it, or maybe who.

For me, it was discovering my dad’s 1978 book The New Challenge of The Stars by Patrick Moore and David Hardy. It was the paintings of Mars and Neptune specifically, and the idea of other worlds orbiting the sun. I was about six.

If you would like to add something that could help to answer my question, that would be most helpful, and thank you.

(Incidentally, the work this will help to produce will form part of Leeds College’s Foundation Show around June 5th 2007)

Hi there, welcome to SGL.

I suppose my interest stems from Childhood. I remember getting a book from the schoold book club in Primary called something along the line of our solar system, it had fantasic pictures and drawings and also amazing facts about space. Ever since then I have dreamed of seeing these things with my own eyes, and have now managed to see some of them. To me Saturn is the most amazing thing it's like a jewel floating in space.

Hi,

I recall that we had an Astronomy/Photography club at Primary School.

My Parents (wishing to encourage my new found hobby) bought me an Astronomy book, maybe one of Patrick Moore's "year books"? and I remember staying up well past bed time, with Dad's 8x40 Binoculars, gazing at the stars - I was hooked!!! :)

I still use the same binoculars to this very day (~35yrs later)!!! :shock:

Cheers and welcome to SGL.

Bill£

Hi.

I have to say probably the seeds of my interest were sown whilst having a hungry appetite for science fiction books when I was a kid.

That was supplemented by old films like Destination Moon. As I got older, my attention turned to Astronomy and an eagerness to learn how to