Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Fantasy Equipment Plan

I want to specify some top end equipment to buy and then when I know the full cost I am going to see what I can do to get it all (legally!!). I am talking about motivating myself really. I currently have a SM127 on an AZ Goto Mount and a few bits (as a grab and go - which is why I bought it first) but I want some serious advice on what would be ideal kit for both viewing and Astro-Togging.

I am still a novice and would just like to see what advice I get and then ask questions and make decisions until I end up with a good spec and budget.

Please don't take the michael!!

Thanks.

:D

I think you need to specify what you want to do with the kit as there is a wide range of top kit but no kit is good at everything. My vote for an obs mount would be a Paramount ME.

Andrew

Well I guess my first question is does something like a 12" Meade LX200 do everything?

Nope it only does somethings.

To cover all options a set of scopes is needed.

Well I guess my first question is does something like a 12" Meade LX200 do everything?

Not only wont it do everything (e.g. wide field DSO) it would not in my opinion be top end kit - its a midrange item in my book.

Andrew

This was something posted on Cloudy Nights when a person how many scopes is enough?:

Hmmmm....

.....I'd say Six for a completely rounded collection!

1 - A Go Deep Refractor

2 - A Go Deep Dob

3 - A Mid-sized, not too heavy, easy in and out the house scope (this would be the most used or daily yard scope)

4 - A Very small and lite quick look and daytime scope (66mm or 80mm)

5 - A Travel scope (#4 could double as this, but I like the travel one a bit bigger)

6 - A Solar scope

...wait , if you have a vacation home then there needs to be a permanent scope there...so Seven!

....actually...can never have enough.

...wait...I forgot...a nostalgia scope, like a long long refractor. Maybe 2 of these, a big one and a small one. Nine!