NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Beginners set up £1k

Hi all

I am looking to get into astronomy and would like to purchase a telescope. I am a keen amateur photographer with a canon 5d3 dslr. I would like to get a set up that is a good starting point for around this amount of money and then look to build upon it in the future if I get into it. Any recommendations in terms of equipment and any useful resources in where to get started in terms of how to use it correctly etc. I am. Ew to this forum but I have found forums so helpful in the past and I hope I can become a useful member of this one.

Regards

RDL

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

High and welcome to SGL.

Do you want to do visual or imaging?

£1K is a reaonable budget for both. But the scopes required are quite different and imaging requires a good EQ driven mount. Visual would allow a purchase of a very good Goto Dob whcih at a pinch would allow up to 20 secs exposures for DSO work and not much more.

Get a copy of Make Every Photon Count, it is a well recommended book for those going down the imaging route.

I think its pretty certain that you want go down the imaging route So I don't think its a good idea to get a tracking dob. my guess is that with a 5d you probably have a few lenses.  So I would use the camera on a mount for imaging and a manual dob to satisfy your visual astro cravings and of course the book

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/skywatcher-mounts/skywatcher-heq5-pro-synscan.html

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-skyliner-150p-dobsonian.html

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/books/making-every-photon-count-steve-richards.html