Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Barlow 3x Focus problem

Hi Guys

I got a Barlow 3x for my Celestron 130EQ MD scope but i can't get it to focus with the 20mm or 10mm lens provided with the scope. Is a 3x Barlow not compatible with my scope?? Any advice would be appreciated as i'm new to all this. Tia

Mike

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello Mike.

Is this a case of no focus at all or just a poor focus. A 3x Barlow with a 10mm eyepiece would probably be a bit over the top on your scope and the 20mm might be marginal. Any Barlow should be compatible with your scope.

Hello Mike.

Is this a case of no focus at all or just a poor focus. A 3x Barlow with a 10mm eyepiece would probably be a bit over the top on your scope and the 20mm might be marginal. Any Barlow should be compatible with your scope.

@Peter No focus at all with either of the lens i have.

@Angus. The Celestron 130EQ is a reflector.

Cheers for the replies by the way guys. Would the Barlow be faulty or damaged i wonder??? It looks fine to me though.

what are you trying to focus on ? moon' planet. i have the same scope and when i first got it i was trying to look at jupi but didnt realize how small it would look through my scope (first scope) and i was trying to view it as it looks in the pics on the imaging section nice and big. maybe this is not your problem reading your post again

have you tried to focus on something in the daytime? . not to sure if iv'e been of any help as i haven't had a clear night since i got my barlow:mad:

star

what are you trying to focus on ? moon' planet. i have the same scope and when i first got it i was trying to look at jupi but didnt realize how small it would look through my scope (first scope) and i was trying to view it as it looks in the pics on the imaging section nice and big. maybe this is not your problem reading your post again