Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

New to you

EssexMigrant

Hi all!I live just outside Peterborough UK. I'm just getting into 'serious' astonomy after wasting about fifty years casually looking up! I got hooked when I downloaded Tachyon onto my phone. It inspired me to take my birding scope (Kowa 883) outside and look at Jupiter. I saw the main upper band for first time, and then looked at shadows in craters on the Moon; I was blown away. Since then I've picked up four second hand scopes to play with. The three better ones are a C102ED, AT90EDT and a ETX125PE. The latter was to all intents purposes new, having not even been unwrapped! All of these scopes together cost less than half what I paid for my Kowa, but have a LOT more potential I feel. I've also bought a few eyepieces, three second hand, and two new. The new pair were a 5mm Radian, and a 10mm Hyperion. The others were a 20mm W/O, a 26 and 40 Meade SP. All three of these came together with an 1 1/4" Ultra Block filter. I also got new a 2" Revelation diagonal. Last night a Meade camera turned up, so I'm nearly ready to start!! I hope to unpack the 125 soon and do some indoor playing and setting up. I suspect that this may end up being the jobby that gets most use. Not only for the goto, but ease of getting it out the door. The one I'm really keen to try is the AT, but until I get an adaptor for my EQ3/2 mount, I'll have to be patient. I did have the C102 out in the frozen snow the week before last, but wasn't that impressed with kneeling on ice! I did however get the best view of M42 I've ever had. So that's about it. I'm anticipating that the few short years I've got left will be a lot more interesting.Max

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply