Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Very new to all this, from Preston

Claire

Hey everyone. I stumbled across your site when I was looking for a UK based forum.

I'm really really new to the whole astronomy world. As in I've literally started to learn the constellations and some of the locations of the planets (thanks to my iphone app :D)

From as young as I remember, I was always looking up at the moon and the stars and being enthralled by it. And now my 6 year old is starting to become fascinated as well!

I started to look into it more after spending hours outside with him when we had the 'shooting stars' (sorry like I say, I don't know all the true names for things). And we found Jupiter too.

I'm so new, I haven't even looked at the skies through a telescope or binoculars! Although, I am borrowing my Grandad's binoculars tonight.

I'm not sure if this is the forum to go for a pretty much absolute beginner like I am, but even if it's not, I've already browsed through some of the pictures you guys have taken and I am blown away by them!

So if there is an absolute beginner forum, then please point me in the direction! I've already read the 'beginner' sticky which takes you to the article by the Sky and Telescope editor guy, (hence me getting the idea to borrow the binoculars tonight!)

My main aim at the moment is just to look at the moon, some planets if possible, and to get to know the names and be able to spot and name constellations and individual stars.

Claire :)

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Clare and welcome to the forum from a neighbour in Chorley

You have certainly come to the right place, everyone has to start somewhere.

The guidance and knowledge amassed here is amazing.

Anything you need to know just fire away.

If tonight is like last night you will be amazed when you look at the sky through your Grandad's binoculars...

Paul

Hi Claire,