Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello Everyone

CH

A slightly different introduction here. (Moderators please feel free to move this if you feel it is appropriate)

I'm totally new to astronomy and don't know much about it. At present I don't even own a pair of binoculars although I have a telescope arriving next week.

The reason this is a different introduction is that I live in a place by the sea called Datca in south Turkey, lovely place unspoilt by tourism (and the dreaded light pollution that all astronomers seem to hate), also we have great cloudless skies for a majority of the year. If you want to see how unspoilt it is put Datca into Google earth and have a look at the peninsula.

Therefore I'm thinking of opening a small bed and breakfast place complete with facilities for astronomy (similar to COAA) which I'm sure most of you have heard of. I've already written to the astronomical societies around the UK and there seems to be quite an interest (especially as a lot of people know Turkey now after visiting here for the last eclipse).

I'm registering here to get some advice from experienced people as to the kind of equipment and facilities people would generally expect at a 'holiday observatory' such as this. I won't be able to stretch to the size of some of the stuff they have at COAA but I'm willing to put in some quality instruments to make it attractive to users.

Apart from the commercial stuff I will no doubt be picking your brains after the first scope arrives.

Any comments would really be appreciated

Clive

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome Clive, I've been holidaying in Turkey for about 18 years and I know all about those clear skys :sunny: I wish you every success with your venture and there will be lots of advice on equipment coming your way, I'm sure. :D

What does that word 'clear' mean?? anyone??

Welcome Clive!!