Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

These dastardly clouds!

Space Oddity6

Hey all,

So its now been over 2 weeks since I've seen even the slightest hint of a celestial object, through the telescope or naked eye, as these clouds just refuse to part, so as you can probably tell I'm a little bored.

So I was wondering, who on SGL holds the record for the longest weather interrupted interval between viewing sessions. Who has been blighted the most by cloud cover? Mine currently stands at 2 weeks and 1 day, but I'm relatively new to this hobby so I bet you guys smash that out of the park.

Well

I have not got the scope out for a few weeks, and as im moving in two weeks, i dont see me getting it out for at few weeks after the move.

Frustrating as hell but one of those things.

I am also at just over 2 weeks, having said that the clouds parted for about 45 minutes on Monday night this week over Frome, Somerset. The sky was amazingly clear and dark I could see so much with the naked eye I was just scanning around identifying constellations I can't normally see from my location. Arcturus was blinding orange, I could see most of the stars in Cygnus and Lyra. I could even see the milyway faintly running through cygnus and down to the South and West. By the time I realised I could get my telescope out it hard started to cloud over again.... A treat nonetheless. Not sure why the sky was clear, no moon obviously. Maybe all the cloud cover has stopped some of the heat haze and general pollution going up into the upper atmosphere.

Thunder tonight and rain possible!

Pray for clear skies. Perseid Meteor shower soon !

Blow the clouds away!

Its a BIT late but think i will pay almost anything right now to be in Portugal for a week to see the Persieds.

I need a holiday. I own an apartment in Lisbon. Its a 2-3 hr drive from Lisbon to the Algarve.

Its a BIT late but think i will pay almost anything right now to be in Portugal for a week to see the Persieds.