Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Our sun and climate change

iamjulian

I studied climate science as part of my degree and have always been of the opinion that global warming is, to a degree, caused or at least greatly influenced by the way we have unlocked so much carbon in the form of oil and coal. Whenever a climate change story comes up on Times Online, the most popular comments are from people who seem to be on a soap box about how climate change is 100% natural and the man made part is just a government rouse to increase taxes.

I have seen good arguments both for and against, but I read Sir Patrick Moore saying that he believes climate change is 100% due to cycles in sun spots and the sun in general. OK so he's not a climate scientist, but his opinion has made me question my own a bit more.

Any thoughts? Is the sun completely in control, or are we in part to blame?

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The climate change "experts" tried to rubbish the idea that the sun had any effect on climate change, but have recently been forced to admit that the sun does indeed influence the climate. The real question is not that does the sun influence climate change but rather by how much. I believe while the sun is the single largest factor driving climate change mankind's actions are accelerating it.

John

If the atmosphere were a liquid, we would be at the bottom of a 10-metre pool. If you think about it, that's not very much and I can easily see how we could be mucking it up big time.

I am pretty sure we are putting unprecedented stress on the system but I can't say I'm convinced about the models used to project 100 years ahead.

What I found really telling, was getting some perspective.