Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Ello from Manchester: the centre of the universe..arguably

andyhicks

Hello everybody, thought I'd follow forum traditions and put my first post in the welcome section (I was tempted to put it in the 'Telescope Planet' thread but I wont go there!..yet)

Well I hope everyone's doin' ok, its a pretty nice day outside so hopefully we'll continue to have clear skies :(

Ive just got into this Astronomy malarky and its going good! I've always had an interest in space flight but its only in the last year, I'd say, that my interest really took off (terrible pun). It probably all started to get serious when I got Go-Satch on my Iphone, I was fascinated by tracking satellites and finding out what they were (mostly R/B's) and I was gettin up at stupid o'clock to catch the ISS pass over and try and take pictures with my digi camera. That was my first experience of spending hours watching the skies and I started learning constellations and patterns but only really so I could find sats. Family got wind bout my new hobby and so for christmas just gone I was gifted a spotting scope, it became apprent fairly quickly that its not easy to track a satellite with magnification! at this point I'd seen my fair share of satellites anyway so it kind of went from there. I was lucky to have Mars and Venus visible so seeing them and Vesta too just sent my brain spinning and its not stopped since. My goal now is to study physics and astrophysics at manchester uni.