Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Another hello from Shropshire

Matt_1976

Hello all,

I’m totally new to astronomy and currently resisting the urge to dive in head first and trying to take it step by step. Hence I have no kit save a pair of binoculars and a mound of questions! The ultimate aim is Astrophotography I guess and to date I have really just been trawling the boards and looking at some of the fantastic images and becoming suitably encouraged to give it a go myself. What’s is really inspiring is seeing how posters' images have improved over time.

Also encouraging is the amount of stargazers local to myself (Newport – Shropshire). The Wrekin springs to mind as a starting point but is this really the best spot to me for viewing the sky and are there any local clubs to me where I can go along and get involved? My 12 year old son is equally enthusiastic to get involved so we're looking forward to some quality time spent freezing in the middle of nowhere!

As I say I have a mound of questions but I really want to take it one step at a time and for the time being become familiar with the night sky and how to locate what is visible and at what times, I’m resisting the urge to buy a telescope that will locate the objects for me I think it would be more rewarding to put the hard miles in and study the sky a little for myself first. I have stellarium which is already proving invaluable.

If anyone can suggest me a few objects in the sky to try and locate though that should be visible at this time of year I can take it from there!

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Firstly Matt,

Welcome to SGL.

If anyone can suggest me a few objects in the sky to try and locate though that should be visible at this time of year I can take it from there!

Secondly there are quite a few objects within the grasp of binoculars.

M42 Orion Nebula

M45 Seven sisters star cluster

M31 Andromeda galaxy

Several clusters, M37, M38 etc.