NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Greetings from Peterborough

vegas

Hi Everyone,

I've been lurking on these boards for the past few months, but thought i'd finally say hello and sign up!

I got my first proper scope (not including childhood memories of looking at the moon with my dad) a few months ago. I opted for the SW 130PM. Im struggling still with the EQ mount, though wish to persevere as my goal eventually is to delve into DSO astrophotography.

Currently Im still learning the sky, I've got my little routine of checking out Jupiter, M31, M13 and the moon. I also enjoy staying up late and waiting for pleiades to show up. Cant wait for Orion to start heading out a little earlier.. as my back garden doesnt get the view until about 3am at the mo.

I tried to find the ring nebula tonight, but utterly failed and am gutted as it was the first clear night for a while and i was so determined!!!

Still, i've got all the basics, "turn left at orion" and Star Walk on my Iphone, so here's hoping i'll find it soon.

Anyway just wanted to say it seems like this is a really nice corner of the internet and I cant wait to speaking to you all soon.

Cheers

Stuart

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to SGL, Stuart. :)

Don't give up on the Ring.. it needs high power in order to look like the images. Basically it looks like a fuzzy star, and you were probably looking right at it but didn't recognize it. Start out with low power and slowly increase it after you're certain you've got the Ring in the fov. Eventually you'll see a bigger fuzzy star, then a glowing ring, and with high enough power the circle will begin to elongate a bit.

An O-III filter will help if you've got bad light pollution. My sky is pretty dark, but the Ring's easy to see under the glare of a Full Moon. (I know viewing DSOs under a Full Moon sounds mad :D , but it's the only way i can simulate the light pollution most Amateurs need to deal with.)